Board of Trustees 2021-22

Member Occupation Appointed By Term Expires
John Parham Jr., MD, Chair Physician, Charles George VA Hospital Boards of Education 2025
Roger Metcalf, Vice Chair Retired Educator Boards of Education 2023
Nian Avery Funeral Director at Avery's Memorial Chapel Buncombe County Commissioners 2022
Theresa Banks Retired Educator The Governor 2023
Joe Brumit, Immediate Past Chair CEO, Brumit Restaurant Group The Governor 2024
Michael Garrison Madison County Commissioner Madison County Commissioners 2025
Tommy Justus Pastor of Mars Hill Baptist Church Madison County Board of Education 2025
Himanshu Karvir

President and CEO of Virtelle Hospitality

Buncombe County Commissioners 2021
Matt Kern Owner, M.C. Kern Contracting Buncombe County Commissioners 2023
David King Retired Manufacturing and Business The Governor


Libby Kyles Educator/Facilitator The Governor 2022
Vacant   Boards of Education 2022
Judy Lewis Retired Educator Boards of Education 2024
Max Queen Retired A-B Tech COO Buncombe County Commissioners 2024
Frances Ramsey Retired Madison County Schools Madison County Commissioners


Vacant President, Ex-Officio Student Government Association 2022