Board of Trustees 2022-23

Member Occupation Appointed By Term Expires
Matt Kern, Chair Owner, M.C. Kern Contracting Buncombe County Commissioners 2023
Theresa Banks, Vice Chair Retired Educator The Governor 2023
Joe Barwick Retired Community College President Buncombe County Commissioners 2026
Joe Brumit CEO, Brumit Restaurant Group The Governor 2024
Michael Garrison Madison County Commissioner Madison County Commissioners 2025
Tommy Justus, DMin Pastor of Mars Hill Baptist Church Madison County Board of Education 2025
Himanshu Karvir

President and CEO of Virtelle Hospitality

Buncombe County Commissioners 2025
David King Retired Manufacturing and Business The Governor


Libby Kyles Educator/Facilitator The Governor 2026
Judy Lewis Retired Educator Boards of Education 2024
Roger Metcalf Retired Educator Boards of Education 2026
John Parham Jr., MD, Immediate Past Chair Physician, Charles George VA Hospital Boards of Education 2025
Frances Ramsey Retired Madison County Schools Madison County Commissioners


Jason Walls District Manager, Duke Energy Boards of Education 2026
Ryan Adams-Clark  President, Ex-Officio Student Government Association 2023