Cooperative-Innovative High Schools

Coop Innovative High School
High School

Cooperative-Innovative High Schools

Cooperative-innovative high schools are small schools that have partnered with A-B Tech to provide local students with a comprehensive and accessible education. Three of the cooperative-innovative schools are Buncombe County Schools institutions, one is a Madison County Schools institution, and one is located on the Asheville High School campus through Asheville City Schools.

Early colleges are rigorous programs in which students can earn a high school diploma and associate degree simultaneously. Early college students start in the ninth grade, and can complete the program in five years. A-B Tech has two partner early colleges:

Buncombe County Middle College (BCMC) is a cooperative-innovative high school. Located on the main A-B Tech Asheville Campus, it provides juniors and seniors with a non-traditional setting for completing a high school diploma and earning college credits.

The Martin L. Nesbitt Jr. Discovery Academy (located at the Buncombe County Schools campus) and the School of Inquiry and Life Sciences at Asheville (located at Asheville High School) are both cooperative-innovative high school focused on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) and career and college readiness. These schools provide a rigorous and challenging curriculum focused on preparing students for future careers through real-world problem solving, developing skills in STEM fields, and working towards career and industry credentialing and post-secondary education.

Please contact us at for more information or to set up an advising appointment.