Board of Trustees 2023-2024

Member Occupation Appointed By Term Expires
Theresa Banks, Chair Retired Educator The Governor, I 2027
Joe Barwick Retired Community College President Buncombe County Commissioners 2026
Joe Brumit CEO, Brumit Restaurant Group The Governor 2024
Michael Garrison Madison County Commissioner Madison County Commissioners 2025
Tommy Justus, DMin Pastor of Mars Hill Baptist Church Madison County Board of Education 2025
Himanshu Karvir

President and CEO of Virtelle Hospitality

Buncombe County Commissioners 2025
Matt Kern, Immediate Past Chair Owner, M.C. Kern Contracting Buncombe County Commissioners 2027
David King Retired Manufacturing and Business The Governor


Libby Kyles Educator/Facilitator The Governor 2026
Judy Lewis Retired Educator Buncombe County Board of Education 2024
Roger Metcalf Retired Educator Buncombe County Board of Education 2026
John Parham Jr., MD Physician, Charles George VA Hospital Asheville City Board of Education 2025
Frances Ramsey Retired Madison County Schools Madison County Commissioners


Jason Walls, Vice Chair District Manager, Duke Energy Buncombe County Commissioners 2026
Roger Reid Association Teen Director, YMCA WNC Asheville City Board of Education 2027
Ryan Adams-Clark President, Ex-Officio Student Government Association 2023