Board of Trustees 2020-21

Member Occupation Appointed By Term Expires
John Parham Jr., MD, Chair Physician, Charles George VA Hospital Boards of Education 2021
Roger Metcalf, Vice Chair Retired Educator Boards of Education 2023
Nian Avery Funeral Director at Avery's Memorial Chapel Buncombe County Commissioners 2022
Theresa Banks Retired Educator The Governor 2023
Wayne Brigman Safety Consultant, Trucking Industry Madison County Commissioners 2021
Joe Brumit, Immediate Past Chair CEO, Brumit Restaurant Group The Governor 2024


The Governor 2021
Vacant   Boards of Education   
Himanshu Karvir President and CEO of Virtelle Hospitality Buncombe County Commissioners


Libby Kyles Educator/Facilitator The Governor 2022
Matt Kern Owner, M.C. Kern Contracting Buncombe County Commissioners 2023
Judy Lewis Retired Educator Boards of Education 2024
Max Queen Retired A-B Tech COO Buncombe County Commissioners 2024
Frances Ramsey Retired Madison County Schools Madison County Commissioners


Vacant President, Ex-Officio Student Government Association 2021