2022 NISOD Excellence Award Recipients

A-B Tech is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 NISOD Excellence Awards.  NISOD is a membership organization committed to promoting and celebrating excellence in teaching, learning, and leadership at community and technical colleges.  The Annual Excellence Awards specifically recognizes faculty, staff, and administrators who make a difference at their institution. The following employees from across the college were identified and selected by a group of Deans, Executive Directors, Associate VPs and VPs:


Instructional Services:

  • Christy Andrews, Chair of Nursing
  • Pam Baker, Administrative Assistant, Business & Hospitality Education
  • Shelly Blackburn, Chair of Academic Related Instruction
  • Debbie Cromwell, Director of Work-Based Learning
  • Buddy Tignor, Instructor, Biology


Economic & Workforce Development/Con Ed:

  • Ronnie Copeland, Lead Case Manager & Coordinator, NC Works
  • Daphne Carson, Specialist, Small Business Center
  • Emma Harper, Assistant, EWDCE Records & Registration


Student Services:

  • Megan Triplett, Assistant, Financial Aid
  • Patricia Hughes, Coordinator, Student Life and Development


Business & Finance:

  • Peter Smith, Procurement Card Coordinator, Business Services
  • Jane Ellis, Administrator, Facilities Support


Information Technology:

  • Katie Hast, Security Policy & Compliance Coordinator



  • Darinda Noah, Employment Specialist


President’s Office (College Advancement, CRM, Research & Planning):

  • Susan Ikenberry, Analyst, Research & Planning


This group of employees really do make a difference in the lives of our students, employees, and community every day by their dedication that goes above and beyond.

Find more Press Releases or Employee News news.