About The Foundation

The A-B Tech Foundation, housed within the Office of College Advancement, supports Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College in all of its programs and activities to ensure that quality educational opportunities are available to its students, faculty and staff.



The A-B Tech Foundation Supports students, faculty and staff success by providing financial support when other funds and resources are not necessarily available.

  • Scholarships
  • Lavender Fund - Supporting Single Parents
  • Student Emergency Funds
  • Mini Grants Supporting Professional Development
  • Areas of Greatest Need



We strive to strengthen educational opportunities for our students by providing up-to-date facilities and equipment to ensure high quality instruction in each of our programs.

  • Renovation and Expansion
  • Providing Industry Standard Technology and Equipment



We collaborate with area businesses, alumni and community members to create bridges of success for students.

  • In-Kind Donations
  • Event Sponsorships
  • Student Mentoring
  • Volunteer Programs Support


This past year the Foundation awarded 426 scholarships totaling over $500,000.  


For More Information
(828) 398-7177


The A-B Tech Foundation, housed within the Office of College Advancement, is a 501(c)(3) organization.
All donations to the Foundation are tax deductible as allowed by law. The Foundation has assets totaling over $7.5 million.


Board of Directors

Steven W. Sizemore

Board Chair 2020
Attorney, Sizemore McGee, PLLC

Zane Adams
Co-CEO, Buchi

Vickie Banks
VP of Human Resources, The Biltmore Company

Dr. Joseph Barwick
Interim President, Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

Yolanda Bopp

Brandy Bowman

Joe Brumit
Brumit Restaurant Group

Annette Coleman
Retired, Vice President, Bank of America

Tonya Dalton
Owner, Inkwell Press

Shelia Elingburg
Past Board Chair (2018 - 2019)
Owner, Downing Place Management, LLC

Gary Foss
GFoss Consulting LLC

Charles Frederick
Market President, Western North Carolina, TD Bank

Tate Groome
Vice President, Colton Groome and Company

Richard B. Hurley
Retired, Square D Company

Pat Jackson
ControllerIngles Market, Inc.

Michael Kryzanek
Past Board Chair (2015)
Real Property Appraiser, NC Dept. of Transportation/Right of Way/Appraisal Section
Commercial Real Estate Appraiser, Kryzanek Appraisal Services

David McCartney
General Manager, Hotel Arras

Anita Metcalf
Retired, A-B Tech Foundation

Robin Ramsey
Western Field Representative, Office of Senator Richard Burr

Lary Schulhof
Retired, Physician

Bill Sederburg

O'Neal Shelton
Owner, Your Source

Ann Skoglund
Broker, Beverly-Hanks & Associates

Ron Storto
Vice President of Hospitality, Biltmore Farms

Jared Wheatley

Whitney Whitson

Wells Fargo

Dirk Wilmouth
VP/CFO, A-B Tech


Board Emeritus Members:

Kay Crews
Board Emeritus

John Ellis
Board Emeritus

Jack Ferguson
Board Emeritus

Nancy B. Miller
Board Emeritus

Ray Spells
Board Emeritus