Ivy Renovation Project

The history of a community contributes to its personality. Preserving the history of a place through its significant historic resources gives a community its unique character – providing a link to the roots of the community and its people.

A restored and renovated Ivy Building will allow the building to be alive once again and relive its past as an intimate space for lectures, choral productions, pop-up art classes, as well as film, theater, and other Continuing Education Community Enrichment classes. It can even host dances once again as Continuing Education dance classes practice their moves with evening “dress up” soirées. Ivy will bring to the A-B Tech campus, and the community as a whole, much needed multi-use space to energize, rejuvenate and stimulate both body and spirit.

To learn more about the Ivy project read the brochure.

A-B Tech Foundation Receives Challenge Gift for Ivy Building Renovation

The A-B Tech Foundation announced the College has received a $50,000 challenge gift in support of the Ivy Building Renovation Project as a way to honor the work and leadership of former St. Genevieve/Gibbons Hall Headmaster Joseph M. Lalley.

St. Genevieve/Gibbons Hall alumni and brothers Andrew Blum (class of 1976), Leonard Blum (class of 1978) and Robert Blum (class of 1981) are pledging up to $50,000 to match dollar-for-dollar gifts from St. Genevieve/Gibbons Hall alumni, friends, and families as an incentive to reach a $100,000 total. This will allow the main floor of the renovated St. Genevieve’s auditorium, now known as the Ivy Building, to be named in honor of Lalley. Other naming and memorial opportunities are available through the campaign to honor families, classmates, former nuns, and teachers, or anyone else for whom the Ivy Building holds special memories. Read the whole story.

The College Foundation along with alum of St. Genevieve’s, has launched a campaign to raise the remaining $500,000 needed to complete the Ivy Building restoration. To learn more about how you can help, contact A-B Tech’s Office of College Advancement at (828) 398-7177 or advancement@abtech.edu


Mary Frances McGowan Allen SGP ‘54

Stuart Camblos SGP ‘66

Jo Salley Chandler SGP/GH ‘78

David Morgan GH ‘59

Kieta Osteen-Cochrane SGP ’60

Mary Ann Rice (A-B Tech Board of Trustees)

Jan Schochet SGP ’71

Ann Skoglund (A-B Tech Foundation Board)


1940      Eugene (Bob) Carr

1951      Wilhelmina Vander Kaaden Rhodarmer

1954      Mary Frances McGowan Allen

1959      David Morgan

1960      Kieta Osteen-Cochrane and Melinda Farr Brown

1962      Martha Eshleman

1964      Millicent Bitter Elmore

1965      Nene Shuford Gunn

1966      Stuart Camblos

1967      Debbie Anthony Dodge

1969      Brenda Lunsford Lilly

1970      Ellen Keetch Craig

1971      Jan Schochet

1978      Jo Chandler

1987      Vijay Kapoor